My blog

My site is getting url spam via the piwik image pixels

URL Spam

I have a small site with the domain lehmann.cx and run among other things a piwki installation for statistics. This works either with a script tag or with a single image url, e.g. on Writefreely and Bearblog I use a pixel since I cannot add Javascript to the page (in fact I have made a feature request for Bearblog to add that feature to the site, maybe it will work in the future)

Now I am getting requests for the image url which can only be described as referrer spam, but since the image is a static url, this is likely targeted at Piwik statistics directly.

"GET /piwik/matomo.php?idsite=7&rec=1&action_name=s3.amazonaws.com/chiropractorsantamonica/best-post-isometric-relaxtion-in-santa-monica.html HTTP/1.1"

The URL leads to a spam page about whatever in Santa Monica

This PV does not show up in the Piwik visitor log, so they are doing something wrong.

Also I am getting actual referrer spam that accesses my writefreely page and that really shows up in the Visitor log like this:

Image